Data Science for Commoners

Data Science for Commoners

What is Data Science?

We all know data is found everywhere. Data is there in all forms too – a video is data, a small pamphlet is also data. So, in the age of data abundance, it is only natural to attempt to make meaningful use of it. Data science is THAT attempt.

As data science gains more and more popularity particularly in the last two decades, there are higher chances of it not being understood correctly. Just like in the 90s, during the proliferation of internet, there were talks about it everywhere but not everyone understood what it was clearly. This blog, is an attempt to simplify the concept, so that it can be understood not only at a technical and broader level but also at a more personal level.

Who is Data Science for?

I am a middle aged investment-banker, can I use it to minimise risk for my clients? I am a school teacher, can I use it to understand and predict the performance of my students? I head a BU in an IT company, how can I use it to enhance quality and control errors in my product release cycles? I own a restaurant, how will it help my business? I am a home-maker, how will it help me run my home? The answer is, it can cater to one and all of the domains mentioned above.

Let us explore how each one can benefit from it, with a simple example. Through this example, we can also understand the various stages involved in Data Science

Data Science in simple use

Latha runs her home. She has been observing since the last 5-6 months that the monthly savings at the end of the month from the collective salaries of her husband Shyam’s and hers is consistently declining. Initial couple of months, she did not pay attention but now as it has become consistent, she wants to take stock and address the situation. Here’s her plan of action

1. Collect Data